Target Banker Program

The Target Banker Program is MBA’s chief grassroots lobbying activity in which bankers discuss issues directly with state representatives and senators. Target Banker visits are scheduled throughout February, March and April during the state legislative session. These visits begin at MBA’s office, where bankers receive a short briefing from MBA staff on the “issue of the day,” including background and talking points when necessary. MBA staff then accompanies bankers to the Capitol to meet their representatives and senators.

Through these Target Banker visits, MBA has a continuous presence at the Capitol throughout the session. Legislators hear directly from you, their constituents, about how issues important to the banking industry affect their districts. The Target Banker Program is a great opportunity for bankers to get to know their legislators and build strong relationships for the future. Any bank employee is eligible to participate in the Target Banker program.

For more information, please contact Emily Lewis at MBA.

2020 Target Banker Visits

February 2020

Tuesday, Feb. 11
Wednesday, Feb. 12 - Registration Closed - Call Emily Lewis for details.
Tuesday, Feb. 18
Wednesday, Feb. 19
Tuesday, Feb. 25

March 2020

Wednesday, March 11
Tuesday, March 17
Wednesday, March 18 - Sisters in Banking Visit led by MBA Chairman Anne Vieira
Tuesday, March 31 - Young Bankers Day at the Capitol #1

April 2020

Wednesday, April 1
Tuesday, April 7 - Young Bankers Day at the Capitol #2
Wednesday, April 15
Tuesday, April 21
Tuesday, April 28
Wednesday, April 29

Target Banker Schedule

9 a.m. Meet at MBA Office for Briefing 
9:45 a.m. Walk to Missouri Capitol 
10 a.m. to Noon  Meet with Representatives & Senators 
Noon  Lunch with MBA Staff (optional) 
*This schedule is based on a typical day at the Capitol. More details will be shared upon registration.

Legislative FAQs

What exactly is the Target Banker Program? What can I expect if I attend? Get your questions answered!

Legislative Resources

Priority Issue